Tania’s Tentative Tomes

Feeling like I couldn’t possibly compete with a Golden Girls quote for a title, I went with cheesy alliteration. The tentativeness of these books is not a quality of the writing, but in whether or not I’ll actually read them.

I’ve signed up for a few reading challenges and have found them good motivation to read. I’ve kept up the Spring Reading Thing and am over halfway through my book list. I know I’ll never become one of those people who reads 250 books a year, but I’d like to get to a bigger yearly number than I am sitting at currently. Although, the challenges that ask you to list what you intend to read have not worked out well for me. Apparently, I don’t like people telling me what to do, even if that person is me. I clearly have issues.

I started my own reading challenge for the public which I hope everyone joins (Summer of the Canadian Short Story), and one for myself for Speculative Fiction and Fantasy. I used to read a lot more genre stuff and have found myself looking at the long epicness of Fantasy novels and saying “I just don’t have the time.” That’s just sad, and looking over at my well-stocked, but not recently well-loved, Geek Shelves fills me with a longing for dragons, battles of good and evil, unique world creation, and witty epic journey banter amongst travelers. So I’ll choose a few to read this summer, but don’t hold me to these titles. Nobody ties me down…or puts me in corner… or whatever.
girlswhosaweverything
salamanderAugust is Fantasy month for the podcast, so my CanLit Fantasy picks right now would be:
Salamander by Thomas Wharton or The Girls Who Saw Everything by Sean Dixon (or any of his books as I’d just like to try one). Not classic Fantasy, but they look interesting.

The rest of my summer of geekery plan is as follows:

City of Saints and Madmen by Jeff Vandermeer (I started this one and was loving it and then left it at my dad’s house over Christmas and he had to ship it back to me and I was already reading something else so…)
The Hobbit by Tolkien (a re-read for Rick’s June Read Along)
The Stranger by Max Frei
The Darkness That Comes Before by R. Scott Bakker
Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson
Vicious by V.E. Schwab

 

 

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tania’s Tentative Tomes

  1. You’ve made me realize that I should revisit my Spring Reading Thing List and see how I’m doing.

  2. Naomi says:

    I’m not good at planning my books ahead, either. I’m such a mood reader. What book I pick up is often determined by the book I just read and how I felt about it. There are books in my to-read pile that I have been sure I would read very soon, but are still there after months (and sometimes years). This rules a lot of challenges out for me. Ones that I get to choose as I go along work well for me, like my own A-Z project, and the Canadian short story challenge.

    • writereads says:

      Yes, I really like your A-Z project. I think it’s a great way of doing a challenge, but still to choose based on your mood.
      My “mood reading” is why I end up putting so many books down midway through, I’m terrible that way. -Tania

  3. I get distracted by the new additions to my TBR list way too easily. I enjoy crossing them off but lately all the books I’ve crossed off are ones I’ve added in the past few weeks while those entries that have moved into 2014 with me are glaring at me. I also hate the fact that I won’t read some of the heftier beauties on my shelves because they may interfere with my attempt to read more books than ever – I know I would LOVE the Count of Monte Cristo and one of these days I would really like to be able to say that I’ve read War and Peace.

    But as you say – reading is a mood thing. It cannot be controlled.

    • writereads says:

      I know – we should count our reading not on how many books read, but on how many pages! That way the heftier books wouldn’t get neglected 🙂 -Tania

Leave a Reply

