Spring Reading Thing 2014

SRT-14Tanya over at 52 books or bust has inspired this Tania to join Spring Reading Thing 2014. Since I decided to challenge myself to read 52 books this year (a feat I think is quite reasonable for me) this new challenge seemed to make sense as it will allow me to organize myself a little. I often get a little too excited and start buying books willy nilly and then looking at a pile that has achieved a devastating size, and doing the sheepish “I may have gone overboard” dance. I may or may not have named the pile “Maurice” and started talking to it when I’m alone…
Anywho, Spring Reading Thing consists of posting a reading list (however long or short) to be read by you between March 20 and June 20 of this year. I’ve chosen to go with a list of 13. Hopefully, this will help me to reduce the size of Maurice, while also giving me some new titles to look forward to by looking at other people’s lists. I am also placing the restraint on myself that I am not allowed to add to Maurice until the end of the challenge (except those books I’ve already pre-ordered; those don’t count, right?)

So, here’s my list, in no particular order. Changes have been made to this list since I first started:

1. The Map of Love by Ahdaf Soueif (see review)
2. Unlucky Charms by Adam Rex (see review)
3. Blood: The Stuff of Life by Lawrence Hill – for the podcast(hear review)
4. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan (see review)
5. The Parallel Apartments by Bill Cotter
6. Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell (see review)
7. Fifth Business by Robertson Davies ( a re-read. see review)
(was The Broken Lands by Kate Milford)
8. Up and Down by Terry Fallis (see review)
(was City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte)
9. The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis (podcast to come)
was (Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell)
10. The Song of Roland by Michel Rabagliati (see review)
was (Mimus by Lilli Thal)
11. Frog Music by Emma Donaghue – (hear review)
12. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley – (hear review)
13. Come Barbarians by Todd Babiak (see review)

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Book Picks, Opinions, Tania. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spring Reading Thing 2014

  1. skstiles612 says:

    Glad you joined us. I’m not familiar with any of your books so I look forward to hearing about them.

    • writereads says:

      4 of them are kids’ books, so they’ll be suitable. I won’t post a review of The Parallel Apartments on the blog, as I don’t think it’s as child-friendly as my other picks 🙂

  2. Naomi says:

    Nice list! I’ve only read Mr. Penumbra, but a few others are on my list. Good luck!

    • writereads says:

      Thank you for the well wishes! I’m off to a good start as I finished Map of Love yesterday (I really enjoyed it, even though historical fiction isn’t always my bag).

  3. Looks like a great list. I loved The Map of Love, though if i remember it is quite a chunkster. The rest are a good mix of books i know and ones i don’t know. I will have to keep an eye on your progress! Thanks for the shout out!

    • writereads says:

      It is a huge book. I finished it yesterday, but only because I had some extra free time. As I was saying to Naomi, I’m not always a lover of historical fiction, but I loved Soueif’s writing and I found the political aspects of the book quite riveting. I’ve been wanting to read Bad Teeth, so I’ll look forward to hearing about it from your blog 🙂

  4. Rooftoppers was one of my favorite reads last year so I hope you get to read that one and love it! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Tania’s Tentative Tombs | writereads

Leave a Reply

