Write Reads #34 Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

oryxandcrake

Are you ready for this? Well, whether you are or aren’t, it’s happening now. We talk about lots of stuffs in this one. Let us know if you’re concerned about our shared longing for a post-apocalyptic world. You can let us know about other things too.

The votes are in and The Story Girl by L.M. Montgomery will be our next read. Thank you to all who made their voices heard (anonymously).

Other books discussed in this podcast:

Other bloggers mentioned:

The Wandering Bibliophile

 

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Book Club, Book Picks, Kirt, Podcast, Tania, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Write Reads #34 Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

  1. Hope you’ve both been well. I feel like I’ve lost touch with you guys, so can’t wait to listen to this episode and catch up.

  2. Naomi says:

    I want to listen to this very badly right now, but I have to go to bed. I want to hear about your shared longing for a post-apocalyptic world – you guys are my people! I thought I was alone with my crazy thoughts – I mean, why would I long for something like that?!

  3. lauratfrey says:

    Listened while wrapping presents πŸ™‚ Tania, I feel like you had more/other reservations about this book that you didn’t get to? Am I right? I would listen to a whole episode of you ranting about male sexual hangups πŸ™‚ Speaking of hangups… when I read this book, I had a real crush on Jimmy, and I don’t mean like “isn’t he dreamy” kinda crush, I mean, “I would do terrible things with him and hate myself afterwards” kinda crush… lol…

    I hope you guys read the rest of the series. The other two books are very different. Are either of you going to read any more Atwood this year? I’m probably going to read Cat’s Eye and/or The Penelopiad. She’s here in April too, I already got my tickets!

    • writereads says:

      I did enjoy the book quite a lot, but I had to admit that the writing was quite a let down after Station Eleven. Everything has been a bit of a let down after that πŸ™‚
      And if it’s what the people want, I’ll get on recording a whole episode of my ranting against authors who expect me to find entire books about male sexual neuroses to be interesting.
      I’m not sure when I’ll get around to the next books, but I will because I do think she has a great idea developed here.
      -Tania

Leave a Reply

