Tagged by Rick (TBR – get it?)

I’ve been TBRed for info on my TBR. It’s a strange and wacky world. Go see his post here

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?
Does anyone really do this? I can organize a lot of things, but I’ve never even tried to organize TBR piles. I’ve got a bunch of books on my shelf that I haven’t read, when I spot one or remember one I want to read, I grab it.
My best TBR organizational tool is my online library holds account. Because I know I’ve only got a few weeks to read each book that comes in for me, it keeps me on track with my reading better than anything else.

Is your TBR mostly print or e-book?
Print baby. All the way.

How do you determine which books from your TBR to read next?
Like a cheezy private investigator, sans trench coat, I go with my gut. Except the books I have to read for Write Reads or for any bellydance reading courses I’m on (Yes, there is a bellydance book club and required reading for some of the workshops I take. Crazy, right?)

A book that has been on my TBR the longest?
Sweet Yoda, there are so many that have been on there for years. Seriously? My brain doesn’t go back that far. Anything by Vonnegut, and lots of stuff by Bradbury.

reasonyouwalkA book you recently added to your TBR?
The Reason You Walk by Wab Kinew. I’m hold #87 on 24 copies at the library. I should be able to get my hands on it 6 months after it comes out :).
The Library: giving you back the love of delayed gratification that you thought Netflix had taken from you.

sjjabrams
A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

S by JJ Abrams. And it’s got all this cool stuff on the inside, too. I have no idea if it’s good or not, but I spent money I didn’t have on it because it was so pretty, and have not even remotely started reading it yet.


A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

There are a lot that I’ll probably never get around to, or only have on there because I think I should.

hilobook2An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?
There are many, but I’m going to go with perhaps a not-so-obvious one. Hilo Book 2: Saving the Whole Wide World by Judd Winnick. The first book in this kids’ graphic novel series made me smile more than any book has a right to. Hilo is just such an enthusiastic character and the storyline is great. Also, it has re-introduced to me the sheer goodness of the word “outstanding!”

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?
I don’t think there is a book that “everyone” recommends to me. Maybe I don’t have enough friends?
I will say my friend Nat has recommended The Chess Garden to me so many times that it feels like “everyone” has recommended it me, even though it is only her.
And since Rick states, rather self-pityingly, in his post that no one reads his recommendations, I’ll go with The Mark and the Void by Paul Murray as I did read Skippy Dies by the same author and kinda loved it.

A book on your TBR that everyone has read but you?
Probably Slaughterhouse Five… I know, I’ve just completely lost any Former-Angsty-Teen-Street-Cred I ever had. But I painted my nails black and filed them to a point and was all into wicca stuff – doesn’t that count for anything?

shepherdscrownA book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?
I am dying to read The Shepherd’s Crown, Pratchett’s last book before he died. I have started it, but I weep streams of snotty, loud, tears every time I do. I feel like I need a couple of days alone in my house to just cry and laugh and, dare I say it, feel my way through this book. Ick, I make myself ill with my sentimentalization, but it’s Pratchett dammit. He means too much to me to speak about his books like a normal person.
Also, probably the books I started, really liked, but for some reason or other got stationeleveninterrupted in reading. The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman, A Tourist’s Guide to Glengarry by Ian McGillis, The Mineral Palace by Heidi Julavitz. Oh, and whatever Emily St. John Mandel has written because Station Eleven was such a frakking good book.

How many books are on your TBR shelf?
A flobbityjillion.

Tag, you’re it!
If you wanna, just pull a Nike. 

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Opinions, Tania. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tagged by Rick (TBR – get it?)

  1. Firstly, yay! Thanks for actually doing it, Tania. I didn’t at all expect it haha.

    Secondly, yes, it was rather pitiful how I said that no one follows my book recommendations, but if pity makes someone actually listen to me one of these days, I’ll take it 😉

    Thirdly, S would be such a cool read-along book, don’t you think? If you’re ever interested in tackling it, I’m down. I think it would be a lot different than most read-along books.

    Fourthly, “Sweet Yoda” is one of the greatest exclamations I’ve ever heard, and I’m totally stealing it.

    • writereads says:

      I’m glad you’re embracing the pity!
      I would be totally down with an S read along! We could do multimedia stuff with it, or something artsy like that.
      I’ve been replacing God or Jesus related phrases with Yoda for some time now. It makes me happy. Please do steal. -Tania

  2. HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEY!
    I haven’t read Slaughterhouse Five either and! I have no plans to.
    Skippy Dies is definitely on my list…maybe it should be a goal to read that next year. Definitely go back and read The Imperfectionists. That book was wonderful.
    Also, I LOVE that line about the library and delayed gratification! Brilliant.

    • writereads says:

      Hey back Princess!
      I probably won’t get around to Slaughterhouse either. It’s been on the list for 25 years now, so if I’ve lived this long without it…
      I know The Imperfectionists will be brilliant, I think it will get read this holiday season.
      And I was quite happy with that line myself – something has to get us back to appreciating delayed gratification, it might as well be the library 🙂 -Tania

  3. Naomi says:

    Eva beat me to it – I love that line about delayed gratification!
    We’re the same person for the first 4 questions, then we go our separate ways (in a good way!). But I’m with you on reading all of Emily St. John Mendel’s books (I wish she would shorten her name, though, it seems so long to type out). 🙂

    • writereads says:

      It’s good that we differ in certain ways, otherwise it would just be creepy 🙂
      And yes, she really needs to get a nickname of some sort…emspot, St. Emily, Mendemily? -Tania

      • Naomi says:

        St Emily will do nicely. I did manage to read Last Night in Montreal a month or two ago, so I can tell you that that one is also good (not as good as Station Eleven, of course, but really…)

Leave a Reply

