Do you know where your dog is?

Our poll for this month’s read was a fascinating study in politics. Kirtles 15dogsand I are constantly upsetting the polls and just making our own decisions, though we do value your opinion. Honestly we do! And now we’ve got the much lauded and sought after Laura of Reading in Bed doing it, too! The whole process has enlightened me on why the polls before a vote are always so damn non-indicative of the actual result of the vote.
So, yes. Laura did pick Fifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis. And I am very glad she did. This book has a lot of meat to it. It settles into your very bones. It provides many ideas to chew on. Okay, I’ll stop now.

I’ve come up with a few questions for those who are reading along with us. I will post any questions our guest and my co-podcaster might have here as well. If you would like your opinions stated in the podcast, please comment before the evening of Monday, May 4th.

1. What are some of the things you think Alexis was trying to say about language and communication?

2. What are some of the things you think Alexis was trying to say about dominance and power?

3. Do you think Alexis succeeds in, if not giving us the canine point of view (because no one could really do that), giving us a point of view that is…somewhat other than human. Does he succeed in really giving us a perspective we haven’t seen before?

4. Is hopefulness the same as happiness? Discuss.ย 

5. Do you feel ignorance is bliss? Discuss.

6. Given the option, would you pick a good life and a bad death, or a bad life and a good death?ย 

7. And finally, if you had to name your dog after the most boring novel in creation, which novel would your dog be named after?ย 

I will answer this as I think Lord Jim really was one of the most boring novels ever written. I also think much of Steinbeck is pretty damn boring. Though I disliked Paradise Lost more…I could call him/her Disey for short ๐Ÿ™‚

For an excellent review of this book, go read Consumed by Ink. Also, Andre Alexis is interviewed about this book on Q:ย http://www.cbc.ca/radio/q/q-schedule-for-wednesday-april-1-2015-1.3017465. And he interviews himself very well here:ย http://www.thenervousbreakdown.com/tnbfiction/2015/04/andre-alexis-the-tnb-self-interview/#more-121103

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Do you know where your dog is?

  1. Listener participation! Great idea. This should add an interesting new wrinkle to the podcast. If only I’d read the book…

  2. Naomi says:

    I’m looking forward to this podcast! And, I feel I should answers these questions, and I want to answer these questions… but, they’re hard! I am going to try anyway.
    1. I think Alexis thinks we need to work on our communication skills. “Just listen to these people. Youโ€™d swear they understood each other, though not one of them has any idea what their words actually mean to another. How can you resist such farce?”
    2. All I got from this is that dogs seem to be obsessed with dominance. Are humans this way too (hopefully in a subtler way)?
    3. I think he succeeds in giving us a different look at ourselves through the lens of these human-dogs. A lot of it’s pretty funny. I especially like the scene where Majnoun’s owner (what’s her name?) is asking him to please try to control himself and not eat dog poop.
    4. Maybe you can’t have one without the other?
    5. I think this all the time when eating all the treats in the house after the kids go to bed. What they don’t know won’t hurt them. And, yes, I think the dogs are better off not ‘knowing’ and just ‘being’.
    6. A good life and bad death (but this is not to say that I hope for a bad death, because I really don’t).
    7. This is the best question, but nothing comes to mind. If a book is boring me, I stop reading it. I’ll go with Moby Dick – I have always thought that one would be pretty boring. I think I’ll call him Moby for short, rather than Dick.
    I expect all the (right) answers to these questions in the podcast! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • writereads says:

      Thank you so much for answering the questions! And don’t dismiss your opinions on the book, silly woman. I have to believe all glorious book discussions are about telling people what you thought of a book, the expression being more important than whether or not you are academically “correct.” And hey, your opinion of the book is what made us dismiss democracy and pick this one over the one people voted most for, so it must be pretty important ๐Ÿ™‚
      And, Moby Dick was a pretty boring novel – Moby being a great name for a dog, I think! -Tania

  3. I can’t even remember what the other book was up against this one, only that i wanted it to win. Oh well, Fifteen Dogs it is!

  4. Haha! Your dog puns made me chuckle! I’m so happy that I have a copy of this book – I’m so excited to read it knowing that you are all reading/discussing it too!

Leave a Reply

