Write Reads #27 How Poetry Saved My Life by Amber Dawn

poetryFor a couple of kids who aren’t that big on non-fiction we sure did seem to enjoy this memoir. Please listen and let us know what you thought about the book, and about our thoughts on it.

Announcements (in keeping with our promise to give fair warning of what books we’ll be doing over the next few months)!

The April New Release that we’ll be reading with our guest host, Laura from Reading in Bed, will be Fifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis. We know that more of you voted for If I Fall, If I Die, but Laura (in grand Write Reads tradition) has no regard for the democratic process.

For the May Mystery pick we decided to go against tradition and honour the poll results. The pick for that month will be Wayne Arthurson’s Fall From Grace.

And, as previously announced, and involving no poll at all but merely Kirt’s iron will, the pick for June will be All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews.

Other books discussed in this podcast:

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Book Club, Book Picks, Kirt, Opinions, Podcast, Tania and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Write Reads #27 How Poetry Saved My Life by Amber Dawn

  1. lauratfrey says:

    FYI I have voted in every election I’ve been eligible for… regardless of the futility of voting against PCs in Alberta (I picture Krang saying “go ahead, throw your vote away!)… but yeah, what you described is what happened. At first, I wasn’t sure which one I wanted. Hence, the poll. Then, I really wanted If I Fall to win. But, as I saw it pull ahead in the poll, I realized I *actually* wanted Fifteen Dogs to win.

    • writereads says:

      I totally get it. I’m a big believer in the democratic process, even though it doesn’t actually work for my benefit in elections in these parts 🙂 But I think likening the Write Reads book votes to an actual election is taking things a little too seriously – clearly Kirt would disagree. -Tania

  2. Tania: “There is some fisting in this book.”
    Kirt: “Deal with it.”

    I laughed so hard at that I almost drove my car off the road,

    Another great podcast. As usual. It occurred to me as I listened to this that I’m actually grateful to you two for doing this every month. It’s a pretty unique thing you’ve got going on, and this is my favorite book podcast I’ve ever heard. And I’m not just saying that because I know you and I’ve been a guest on here, haha. Seriously, keep this up forever because it’s so, so great.

    With that being said, kudos to Kirt for using the phrase “socio-economic dichotomies.”

    I’m going to reiterate how much I would love for you guys to do your own version of a Canada Reads (or Write Reads) round table. I don’t care if it’s poetry. It would just be super fun. Make it happen!

    And keep the mentions of me coming. Makes me smile every time ::D

    I actually have never read this book. I made that comment on a previous podcast that you guys would be blushing through it just based on the fact that it was about a sex worker. And I couldn’t imagine Kirt talking candidly about potentially violent sex acts haha. So when Kirt said last month that he was “impressed” that I’d read this book … I hadn’t. Forgive me.

    I was hoping for some more blushing though. Would have been much funnier. Frog Music just broke that barrier for you. You can talk about fisting so casually now. It’s actually quite impressive.

    • writereads says:

      I was also impressed by Kirtles’ use of that phrase, I tried to keep my shock in check, though.
      Thank you for the kind words! And we’ll definitely get on the panel podcast to defend books for some reason or other – maybe this summer will see a Write Reads panel of some sort. -Tania

  3. Naomi says:

    I don’t know how I missed this. I got my book from the library just in time to read it for this podcast, and have been waiting patiently ever since. Today, it occurred to me to check just in case I had missed it, and sure enough, I had! Ha!
    So, I read the book, and liked it, and was impressed by her own personal story and how up front she has been with it. I wonder if paying your way through University with your body will become more acceptable because of Amber Dawn? Hmmm… not so sure that’s a good thing.
    For me, her book was a new reading experience – the structure of it was something I don’t usually gravitate towards, so I am glad you chose it for your podcast. I also think it’s a bonus that it’s poetry month – I will actually have a book about poetry to write about. Good timing!
    And, I definitely want to read Sub Rosa now, too!

  4. Pingback: How Poetry Saved My Life; A Hustler’s Memoir by Amber Dawn | Consumed by Ink

Leave a Reply

