Reading With Laura

We’re pretty excited that Laura Frey from Reading in Bed will be returning as our first guest host of the year. We had a lot of fun when she sat with us to discuss Emma Donoghue’s Frog Music.  Once again she’s with us for our New Release Pick. Laura has picked two titles that she’s interested in doing (as are we). You can help us all decide by voting below.

15dogsFifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis

— I wonder, said Hermes, what it would be like if animals had human intelligence.
— I’ll wager a year’s servitude, answered Apollo, that animals – any animal you like – would be even more unhappy than humans are, if they were given human intelligence.

And so it begins: a bet between the gods Hermes and Apollo leads them to grant human consciousness and language to a group of dogs overnighting at a Toronto vet­erinary clinic. Suddenly capable of more complex thought, the pack is torn between those who resist the new ways of thinking, preferring the old ‘dog’ ways, and those who embrace the change. The gods watch from above as the dogs venture into their newly unfamiliar world, as they become divided among themselves, as each struggles with new thoughts and feelings. Wily Benjy moves from home to home, Prince becomes a poet, and Majnoun forges a relationship with a kind couple that stops even the Fates in their tracks.

André Alexis’s contemporary take on the apologue offers an utterly compelling and affecting look at the beauty and perils of human consciousness. By turns meditative and devastating, charming and strange, Fifteen Dogs shows you can teach an old genre new tricks. [From Goodreads]

ififallIf I Fall, If I Die by Michael Christie

Will has never been to the outside, at least not since he can remember. And he has certainly never gotten to know anyone other than his mother, a fiercely loving yet wildly eccentric agoraphobe who drowns in panic at the thought of opening the front door. Their little world comprises only the rooms in their home, each named for various exotic locales and filled with Will’s art projects. Soon the confines of his world close in on Will. Despite his mother’s protestations, Will ventures outside clad in a protective helmet and braces himself for danger. He eventually meets and befriends Jonah, a quiet boy who introduces Will to skateboarding. Will welcomes his new world with enthusiasm, his fears fading and his body hardening with each new bump, scrape, and fall. But life quickly gets complicated. When a local boy goes missing, Will and Jonah want to uncover what happened. They embark on an extraordinary adventure that pulls Will far from the confines of his closed-off world and into the throes of early adulthood and the dangers that everyday life offers. If I Fall, if I Die is a remarkable debut full of dazzling prose, unforgettable characters, and a poignant and heartfelt depiction of coming of age.[From Goodreads]

PS: We also need a deciding vote for our May Mystery Pick. Right now it’s 50/50.

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Book Club, Book Picks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Reading With Laura

  1. Naomi says:

    Oh, groan. They are both good picks. I just read Fifteen Dogs and loved it! But, on the other hand, I own the other book too, and might need a little nudge to read it. Hmmm.

    • lauratfrey says:

      Ooo I see you just reviewed Fifteen Dogs… I may hold out on reading your review till we’ve picked! I didn’t realize how short it is… how long did it take you to read?

  2. Ack! It is such a tight race. i’m DYING to read Michael Christie’s book. I read his last book of short stories and loved it and I don’t even like short stories. And I can’t wait to hear Laura again.

  3. Deliberated for a second about this one (because Fifteen Dogs sounds cool), but when I attempted to weasel my way into guest hosting in April I was going to suggest If I Fall, If I Die. Pretty weird, eh?

    I’m excited to hear Laura make her return, though! Sounds like there will be less fisting talk this time around. Hopefully. 😉

    • lauratfrey says:

      I lent Frog Music to my mom a few weeks ago and I’d kind of put all that out of my mind. Right after she went home I was like UH OH. Hahah.

      I went into this secretly wanting If I Fall to win, but I’m seeing lots of good things about Fifteen Dogs now so I don’t know anymore.

  4. writereads says:

    This is so exciting! It’s a dead heat! Who will prevail?! – Kirt

  5. Pingback: Battle of the Books, Write Reads Edition: Fifteen Dogs vs. If I Fall, If I Die | Reading in Bed

  6. Yay, so happy Laura will be back! I’m voting for Fifteen Dogs.

  7. Pingback: In my bed: April 2015 | Reading in Bed

Leave a Reply

