Write Reads #26 And the Birds Rained Down by Jocelyne Saucier

birdsThe 26th Write Reads podcast is ready for your listening pleasure. We would love to hear what you all thought about this great little novel.

The people have spoken and our pick for non-fiction month is How Poetry Saved My Life by Amber Dawn. I guess we’d better get ready for some blushin’.

Other books mentioned in this podcast:

Other bloggers mentioned:

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Book Club, Kirt, Podcast, Tania and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Write Reads #26 And the Birds Rained Down by Jocelyne Saucier

  1. Naomi says:

    Yay – no flaws! Thanks for making me famous! πŸ™‚
    I was also sad about the dogs. (But, it wasn’t a flaw.)
    Loved the lady at the museum. Just think of all the great stories that will be lost because people use e-mail now instead of letters. Sigh.
    I thought the romance was very sweet and well done, and that the life lost in the insane asylum was heart-breaking. It’s hard to even imagine such a thing happening.
    As for books getting voted off Canada Reads, I am sad about almost all of them getting voted off, but I still love it. I don’t think it prevents people from reading all of them, which is really the point of CR.
    Hermits. I love hermits. Have you ever heard of the Hermit of Gully lake? He lived here, in Nova Scotia. You should google him. Do you know any other good books about hermits?
    I am so happy you both liked it. I definitely did not notice any flaws in this book. πŸ™‚

    • writereads says:

      Kirt actually mentions the Hermit of Gully Lake in both the podcast and the blog post here πŸ™‚ He loved it, I believe. I’ll have to borrow it from him.
      I think it’s true about the emails. It’s not that people can’t say romantic things in them, but as records of a relationship, they just aren’t as cool.
      I’m also fine with the voting off the island. I sometimes dislike how petty and not-about-the-book Canada Reads can get, but I like the format in general.
      Yes, I’m happy we liked the book, too. I always prefer it to the other thing, when we don’t like a book and then have to poo-poo it. I dislike poo-pooing. -Tania

  2. Naomi says:

    Gah. How did I miss that? It’s easily missed in the podcast, as I am usually puttering around doing other things while I listen, but I always read your list of other books mentioned. Oh well, I’m glad he liked it. Hermits are cool – you have to wonder what’s going on in their heads. They have so much time to think.

  3. lauratfrey says:

    You guys. This book contains the phrase “pubic bouquet” and you didn’t mention it. I’m disappointed. πŸ™‚

    Great discussion though. I had some issues with the realism of these guys living alone, but I think I’m over it… I mean, the average 80 or 90 year old would not be able to live this way, but they aren’t the average. And they’d thought about what to do when they became too infirm to continue.

    I don’t think it’ll make it on Canada Reads, but I caught Martha Wainright’s opening statement this morning and she did real well. I just think the controversy around Raziel Reid’s book will overshadow (it’s great too so either way, I’m good…)

    This book was really good, something holds me back from an enthusiastic 5 stars though. Could be the weird extra narrator, or the too-easy solution to getting Marie-Desneige out of the asylum (who would believe an 88(?) year old could run off while you’re getting gas? How far are they gonna get in 2 minutes?) or the repetition of some words and phrases, which I noticed too.

    Think I need to read Walden. I only know Thoreau from his many quotable quotes.

    • writereads says:

      Good Yoda! We missed discussing pubic bouquet? I’m quite disappointed in us.
      I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who thought about those things you mentioned – sometimes I feel crazy when I’m criticizing a book everyone loves.
      And I did love this book, but it wasn’t 5 stars for me either. I also think Martha might take this book higher than any of us thought possible – she’s a force on that show. -Tania

Leave a Reply

