Free Charlie

birdsI know I’ve been a little lax about posting the last few months, and I’ve been working on a personal piece about why that is, but I’ve discovered I’m not so good with posting really personal stuff. I’m no Carolyn over at Rosemary and Reading Glasses, who posts such beautifully crafted writings on both books and her own life experiences.

For today, since I actually finished And the Birds Rained Down early, I thought I’d post some questions for you out there to get some feedback for this month’s book club. As for my own opinion on the book, you’ll have to wait until the podcast, but I will say that I think this book is worth reading. I hope the Canada Reads debate gives this book the attention it deserves.

Feel free to add your own questions in the comments and I’ll put them into the post.

1. How did you feel about the representation of the elderly characters in this book? Did you find aging was romanticized or represented realistically?

2. The book is making a commentary about how we deal with the elderly. Did you enjoy how this commentary was done and where it all ended up?

3. What is your relationship with the elderly? Do you enjoy spending time with them? Do the elderly make you uncomfortable?

4. What is your relationship with your own aging? Does it relate to how you view the elderly in general?

5. How did you feel about the translation of this book? Were you able to tell that it was a translation? Do you read a lot of translations in general?

4. What were your opinions on the narrator interludes (parts in italics)?

5. What were your opinions on the ending?

6. To go with Canada Reads, do you feel this book breaks down barriers? How effective is it in doing so?

7. Did you feel the romance in this book was done well or too cheezily?

8. Is ill-fated love impossible these days?

9. As Kirtles is always wanting to post about the soundtracks for reading books, were there any songs playing in your head when you read this?
I can answer this one! I was out at a Vietnamese restaurant while reading this book and The Cranberries’ Dreams started playing just when certain sweet moments were occurring. I couldn’t help thinking it was a pretty great song for the more romantic parts of this story.

 

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Book Picks, Opinions, Tania. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Free Charlie

  1. Naomi says:

    So many questions! All I know is I loved this book. I didn’t have any problem with the translation. I loved the characters. I think it could provide some good discussion for Canada Reads, but may not be the strongest book in the running for the theme of breaking barriers. I’ll be interested to hear if you have any criticism of the book, to see if I picked up on the same things, or not. When I love a book, I tend to overlook any of its flaws. 🙂
    I am very happy that it’s in the running for Canada Reads, just so that it will get more attention.

    • writereads says:

      I am also very glad it made it into the running as I don’t think this small book would have gotten much attention otherwise. I’m glad you loved the book so much and I’m the same way about books I love – I’m all “Flaws? What flaws?” -Tania

  2. lauratfrey says:

    I approve of The Cranberries being in the post. They should be in more blog posts in general.

    I’m going to start reading this tonight, I think. It’s a quick read, right??

Leave a Reply

