Tania’s Choice 2015

I’ve been so out of the loop that I feel a little weird about choosing the next read. I have many options, and I am leaning towards one, but can I trust my instincts after this long out of the book blogging world? And, more importantly, should you trust my choices? I just don’t know.

I’ve created a poll. I probably won’t be as polite and considerate as Kirtles (as if I ever could be) as I won’t necessarily pick the book with the most votes. In the end, it is my choice to make, but I sure could use a little help!


My Year of Meats
by Ruth L. Ozeki

I’m leaning towards this one as I’ve been dealing with a lot of these topics personally and Ozeki wowed the heck out of me with A Tale for the Time Being. It has also been highly recommended by previous guest-podcaster Alexis Kienlen.

myyearofmeatsRuth Ozeki’s mesmerizing debut novel has captivated readers and reviewers worldwide. When documentarian Jane Takagi-Little finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show that just happens to be sponsored by an American meat-exporting business, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. Hailed by USA Today as “rare and provocative” and awarded the Kirayama Prize for Literature of the Pacific Rim, My Year of Meats is a modern-day take on Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle for fans of Michael Pollan, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Kingsolver.

And the Birds Rained Down by Jocelyne Saucier, translated by Rhonda Mullins

Canada Reads selection for this year and winner of a pooptonne of awards. This was reviewed beautifully (as always) by Naomi at Consumed by Ink.

birdsTom and Charlie have decided to live out the remainder of their lives on their own terms, hidden away in a remote forest, their only connection to the outside world a couple of pot growers who deliver whatever they can’t eke out for themselves.

But one summer two women arrive. One is a young photographer documenting a a series of catastrophic forest fires that swept Northern Ontario early in the century; she’s on the trail of the recently deceased Ted Boychuck, a survivor of the blaze. And then the elderly aunt of the one of the pot growers appears, fleeing one of the psychiatric institutions that have been her home since she was sixteen. She joins the men in the woods and begins a new life as Marie-Desneige. With the photographer’s help, they find Ted’s series of paintings about the fire, and begin to decipher the dead man’s history.

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Opinions, Tania. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tania’s Choice 2015

  1. Naomi says:

    Thanks for linking to my post, Tania!
    It’s no surprise that my vote is for And the Birds Rained down, because I so badly want more people to read it. However, I can see My Year of Meats being a great book to open up a huge discussion about the meat industry (which, unfortunately still needs to happen). On the other hand, there are also some great topics for conversation in And the Birds Rained Down that I don’t really want to mention because of spoilers. So, my vote is still for The Birds. Tough choice.

  2. writereads says:

    My vote was for The Birds too. – Kirt

  3. lauratfrey says:

    And The Birds Rained Down for the same reason that you included it in the first place – Naomi’s review!

    I haven’t read any Ozeki so I have nothing to do on there.

Leave a Reply

