October 2014 Pick: Blind Spot by Laurence Miall

larryWanted to announce, with pictures and everything, that our October 2014 read is Blind Spot by former Edmontonian Laurence Miall. Also, I learned in this post that when you are friends with an author on facebook, it becomes extremely difficult not to impishly put an embarrassing photo up as their author photo. I kept it professional. Be proud.

alexisKienlen_pic
This book was picked for us by our newest guest host for the podcast, the amazing Alexis Kienlen. She is another Edmontonian writer and we look forward to having her on the show!

 

tdlogoAnother tidbit of news, for those of you with kids, I wanted to remind you that it’s time for the kids to vote for the TD Canadian Children’s Book Award. The finalists are listed at the link at CBC Books and if you fill out the voting form, you get a chance to win a trip to Toronto for the awards gala! Dangit, it makes me wish I had a kid between ages 5 -13! Voting ends October 23, 2014!

Back to the issue at hand, the next podcast will be out a week early on Monday, November 3rd and here is the info from the goodreads page for Blind Spot:

“Some days I wish something truly bad would happen so that I would have something genuine to worry about.”

When his parents’ car is hit by a train, Luke, a failed actor, returns to his Edmonton Blind Spothometown to attend their funeral, wrap up their affairs, and prepare their house to be sold off. But while all others around him grieve, Luke remains detached, striking up a relationship with a woman in a neighbouring house… and stumbling across evidence that his mother may have engaged in a longstanding extramarital affair herself.

In “Blind Spot,” debut novelist Laurence Miall crafts an unforgettable literary antihero, a man disconnected from the pain of those around him, yet blind to his own faults. With his clean, forceful language and his familiarity with the darker corners of the male psyche, Miall emerges as a gripping storyteller in the tradition of Tobias Wolff and Andre Dubus III.

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Book Picks, CanLitNews, Tania. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s