Reading On Paper

Interesting look at the benefits of reading actual books. Thoughts?

Science Has Great News for People Who Read Actual Books

bookme

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Opinions, Tania. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reading On Paper

  1. Naomi says:

    Here’s what I think. I love this article, because I want it all to be true. However, I have a feeling that if you dig deep (which I don’t plan on doing), you can probably make the studies ‘say’ what you want them to ‘say’. Also, e-readers haven’t been around long enough to do a good study (many people over many years). I would love for someone to do this, though. But, not me. I will just go on singing the praises of real books, just because I love them. I find it hard to love an electronic devise, and they don’t look nearly as nice on a bookshelf. Get planting those trees everybody!

    • writereads says:

      Yeah, I’d have to agree that the study is probably not truly scientific at this point. But, just from my own experience, I do think that there is a difference in the way I focus reading on the internet or on paper. I don’t mind e-readers as a concept, I just find I can’t stand reading on them myself. So much screen time already and I hate not being able to flip back and forth in a book with ease. Plus, they aren’t nearly as pretty as books 🙂 -Tania

  2. I love reading things that prove me right.

  3. lauratfrey says:

    Disclaimer: did not read the article

    I don’t buy it. Words are words. I don’t think it matters. There are pros and cons to each, & in my ideal scenario, I read a book for the first time on eReader for the convenience, and own the paper copy for reference, notes, flipping, lending, pettiness, etc. I own quite a few in both formats. Can’t wait till a paper book includes digital rights. Then people can stop having this argument☺

Leave a Reply

