Write Reads #18 The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis

bestlaidplansKirt’s June pick, the merits and flaws of democracy, Tania’s immorality, and Canadian federal politics are discussed vigorously in this installment.  The discourse becomes so heated that Tania requested that some of her inflammatory comments be edited out entirely! Who would have thought that a humble little novel of Canadian political satire would stir up so much drama? Well, there might be some hyperbole going on here, but this episode is sure to entertain and engage our listeners. As always, if you have anything to contribute to the conversation, please do not hesitate to do so.

This podcast also features the soothing sounds of crows teaching their youngsters how to fly.

We are also pleased to announce our next book, and our next guest host: Rick from Another Book Blog will be joining us for our August 4th podcast to talk about King Leary by Paul Quarrington.

Other books discussed in this podcast:

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Book Club, Book Picks, Kirt, Opinions, Podcast, Tania, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Write Reads #18 The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis

  1. Naomi says:

    I enjoyed getting to listen to the whole podcast this time, because I’ve already read the book. But, as a result, I’m up past my bedtime. 🙂 I also wish now that I had taken notes, because I can’t remember many of the things I was going to comment on. It’s too bad Kirt didn’t like it more, since it was his birthday.
    I think I agreed with most of what you said, except I think I was a little more forgiving. I don’t think I took it quite as seriously. I was just so happy to actually be enjoying a book about politics. It’s good to know you think his writing gets better as he goes along. It gives me something to look forward to. I got No Relations for my birthday. 🙂
    Also, one more thing that I have to say. I agree with Kirt about the hockey thing. And, every time I type Kirt’s name, my spellcheck changes it to Skirt. It’s kind of funny.

  2. So I enjoyed this one so much I actually listened to it twice in about a 6 hour span today 😀

    First of all, yay for next month’s read! I’m excited, despite the fact that Kirt seems destined to hate the experience haha. Hopefully the Leacock/Canada Reads combo isn’t some kind of curse. What are the odds you read two books back to back that have won both? Freaky shit right there.

    Best Laid Plans has always been on my no-read list, solely because of Canada Reads. I was SO in love with Essex County that year (and still am) that I was angry at Fallis’ book for winning. Also, Ali Velshi, who was defending the book, irritated me to the Nth degree. This is all incredibly unfair to Fallis and his book, but that’s who I am I guess haha.

    I’m incredibly apathetic about Canadian politics, so I feel like I would have been with Kirt on this one. Even though it sounds like it tries to point out some of the hypocrisies, it doesn’t sound like it does a good enough job of it.

    I love the fact that he wrote it on a blog, though! I’ve thought about doing it in the past actually. Nice to see a success story out of the idea.

    Kind-of-side-note: Pinocchio, Vampire Slayer sounds and looks AMAZING.

  3. lauratfrey says:

    One of the Book Riot podcasters was raving about The Sparrow recently, but you don’t see much about it in Canadian media. Sounds like a gooder.

    Glad you are liking Middlemarch! I feel like I should reread it one day. I loved it, but it wasn’t as life-changing as it seems to be for some people.

    I picked up King Leary today so I’ll get to listen to the whole podcast! I like sports fiction when it’s done well – think the hockey scenes in Indian Horse, or the tennis scenes in Infinite Jest, so hopefully this’ll work out. I’m doing a no-novel month so I’ll have to read it real quick come Aug. 1st.

    • writereads says:

      Yay! A read-alonger!
      The Sparrow is pretty awesome, entertaining and witty with some thought behind it.
      I am quite interested to learn what Kirt thinks of the ending of Middlemarch, as I recall thinking it was just a great ending, but that was a long time ago. -Tania

      • I’m so pumped you read The Sparrow. I read half of it a few years ago (but stopped, inexplicably) and I thought it was brilliant. I recently bought a western book by Mary Doria Russell about Doc Holliday, which says a lot about how highly I think of her, because I never (NEVER) read westerns.

  4. I listened to and loved the podcast! But I’m a bit behind because I’m only reading The Best Laid Plans now. So far I like it and appreciate the jokes in the story.

    I read The Sparrow in university and it was going straight over my head. Luckily, we discussed it at great lengths in class, so I began to understand what was going on. I ended up loving it and hope to re-read it again one day.

Leave a Reply

