Spring Catch Up!

SpringReading14
Phew, the end of June was a killer, but in a good way. You know, those good kinds of killers? Okay, so “killer” is probably not the word I’m looking for. But, clearly I’m not good on my feet these days as the most exciting thing I could come up with in the last podcast when trying to list exciting things to write about was “flaming torches.” In my defense, anything on fire is automatically exciting. Right?

My dance students performed beautifully at the two student shows, they always make me so proud. And I also got a new job! I’m now a dance teacher at two studios and a comic book purveyor at Happy Harbor Comics. I’ve mentioned this incredible comic bookstore many times because it’s just the best and I can’t believe I get to work there! I’m a lucky gal to have two dream jobs right now!

So, in all this, it’s now time to play catch up on the blog. I totally missed deadlines for 3 reading challenges this month, guilt thy name is Tania.

1. The Hobbit Read-Along with Rick at Another Book Blog. Would you look at that? Rick didn’t read it either! Ha! I get a pass! Though I did get through to Chapter 7 on the audio book, and this is a re-read for me, so I’m ahead of the game.

2. Re-reading A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki for the CBC Canada goodreads page. Sadly, this re-read didn’t even get started for me. I’ll try to let go of the guilt.

3. The Spring Reading Thing. I actually completed this challenge, but the due date to write about it came and went with me organizing music and show orders. But, just because the due date went past, the fact that I completed this makes me proud, so I thought I’d post what I would have posted on June 20th had I had the time. You can see that I changed my mind about many of the titles I was going to read. 🙂

1. The Map of Love by Ahdaf Soueif (see review)
2. Unlucky Charms by Adam Rex (see review)
3. Blood: The Stuff of Life by Lawrence Hill – for the podcast(hear review)
4. Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan (see review)
5. The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell (review to come)
(was The Parallel Apartments by Bill Cotter)
6. Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell (see review)
7. Fifth Business by Robertson Davies ( a re-read. see review)
(was The Broken Lands by Kate Milford)
8. Up and Down by Terry Fallis (see review)
(was City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte)
9. The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis (podcast to come)
(was Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell)
10. The Song of Roland by Michel Rabagliati (see review)
(was Mimus by Lilli Thal)
11. Frog Music by Emma Donaghue – (hear review)
12. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley – (hear review)
13. Come Barbarians by Todd Babiak (see review)

I shall work on my guilt issues and congratulate myself on finishing what I did finish and on getting a new job.

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Opinions, Tania. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Catch Up!

  1. Naomi says:

    Congrats on your new job! Sounds perfect for you! And I am impressed with the completion of your Spring Reading Thing challenge. Not too shabby.

  2. writereads says:

    I just wish I had been able to get the post in under the wire! But I’ll forgive myself eventually 🙂 -Tania

  3. I think you’ve done pretty well. And two dream jobs, that’s not bad. I don’t even have one job and you seem to be ahead of me.

    • writereads says:

      No one is ahead of you in book reading!
      And, I believe motherhood is a dream job, is it not? I mean, aside from cleaning up the poop and stuff when they’re younger…and dealing with the teenage stage with girls… 🙂

Leave a Reply

