Waiting and The Library

library_journal_coverIt’s a celebration of Edmonton today as Edmonton’s Public Library wins the 2014 Library of the Year award. It’s the first time the award is being given to a Canadian library and EPL completely deserves it. I’ve lived in several Canadian cities and many Canadian towns, and Edmonton’s library system is by far the best. I congratulate and give virtual hugs to all the librarians putting so much hard work into making our city a better place to live and read.

I struggle with Edmonton at times. There are certain aspects that drive me to daily ranting (the public transit system, the city planning, the just plain aesthetic ugliness outside of the river valley), but I continue to live here, and enjoy living here, because of the people and the ridiculously large artistic can-do spirit that lives in this prairie city. Whenever you try out an art form here, you find out that it has the best facilities for that art form of nearly anywhere in Canada. Its improv theatre is world renowned, its theatre in general is world renowned (Fringe!), its bellydancing is world renowned, the library system, the fine arts, the music scene (Folk Fest!), the list goes on and on, including Edmonton’s many fine authors. Even the book bloggers have their own club (see link on right)!

I read one of those authors just a few weeks ago:
Thomas waitingforcolumbusTrofimuk’s Waiting For Columbus.

A man arrives at an insane asylum in contemporary Spain claiming to be the legendary navigator Christopher Columbus. Who he really is, and the events that led him to break with reality, lie at the center of this captivating, romantic, and stunningly written novel.

Found in the treacherous Strait of Gibraltar, the mysterious man who calls himself Columbus appears to be just another delirious mental patient, until he begins to tell the “true” story of how he famously obtained three ships from Spanish royalty.

It’s Nurse Consuela who listens to these fantastical tales of adventure and romance, and tries desperately to make sense of why this seemingly intelligent man has been locked up, and why no one has come to visit. As splintered fragments of the man beneath the façade reveal a charming yet guarded individual, Nurse Consuela can’t avoid the inappropriate longings she begins to feel. Something terrible caused his break with reality and she can only listen and wait as Columbus spins his tale to the very end.

I was completely enthralled by the idea of this book. I loved the concept of someone guarding themselves by believing they are another person, I loved how the supporting characters had to draw out the man behind the persona, and in the end, I loved the reasoning behind why he chose Columbus. Sadly, there were certain elements of this books that didn’t quite sit right with me. I didn’t find Consuela to be a fully fleshed out female character, and as we spend quite a bit of time with her, that was a bit disappointing. There were also certain traits of hers that I didn’t find believable. I also didn’t totally get into the setting of the book. It is set in Spain, but I just didn’t feel the Spain-ness, if you know what I mean. But the book is full of sensual and poetic language, and though I wasn’t completely enraptured, I was glad I stuck with it as the end paid off. Many people have really enjoyed this book, so please feel free to ignore my criticisms and pick up a copy and immerse yourself in a well-written, fun read.

I think one of the main things I enjoyed about the book was how it got me thinking about who my mind might choose to make me if I suffered enough of a psychological break. It would make sense to me that my mind would do this, as I spend so much of my time immersed in imaginary worlds. There’s a large part of me that believes it would be Whedon-based. Buffy? Zoe? I’m laughing as I write this, but there’s a good chance it would be Jayne. I don’t know why, but Elizabeth Taylor was one of the first names that popped into my head when I started thinking about this. I assume your mind would pick different people based on the trauma. If you need to feel strong again, an action hero would make sense. If you need to feel child-like again, it might be someone like Anne (of Green Gables fame) or Stargirl (from the Spinelli book of the same name). Anyway, it was a fun question to ask myself, so I thought I’d ask all of you who you think your mind would choose for you.

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in CanLitNews, Opinions, Tania. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waiting and The Library

  1. Naomi says:

    Oooh… good question! But, I have no idea. My first thought was someone strong and fearless (because that is what I wish), but then I thought that maybe I would be more likely to think I was someone more similar to who I am now. But, that’s not as fun, so I’d rather go for the strong and fearless. Hmmm… my mind is a blank. Any ideas?

    Your library sounds so awesome! I wish we had a better one here, but there are cons as well as pros to living in small town NS. They always do manage to get what I want when I put special requests it, though. And, I do still love them. I am very jealous of your CanLit book club that Laura has talked about!

    • writereads says:

      All libraries are made of goodness 🙂 Small town libraries have actually usually been my favourites as what they lack in selection, they make up for in quaintness.
      As to who you would be, I think you would be a Montgomery character. I don’t know why, but I can see you as any one of them (Emily, Anne, Sarah). -Tania

  2. lauratfrey says:

    I had to answer a question like this once a long time ago – if you were a fictional character, who would you be? – And I said Felicity. LOL. But seriously… probably Felicity. She did travel through time, so there’s that…

    Great #yeg post! I was so shocked when I found out how big the belly dance community is here. I was like, really, here?? Same with book blogging, and I’m just starting to discover Book Tubers here as well…

    Our library really is great. I don’t know what it’s like in other cities, I’m just used to this. I didn’t really discover it till I had kids, and realized there’s TONS of high quality, free programming.

    • writereads says:

      I’m going to be laughing for awhile about Felicity 🙂 It may just be your new nickname.
      Edmonton’s art scene is a constant source of amazement for me. Our Fringe festival has pretty much kept me living here even when other places have been calling out to me.
      And our library is just phenomenal – especially for families! It’s a #yeglovefest 🙂

  3. writereads says:

    John McClane. or Al Swearengen (depending on the situation that caused the break)- Kirt

  4. I totally agree that Edmonton has this total arts can-do attitude. It’s refreshing. I’d consider living there, but the winters! No thanks.

    • writereads says:

      Yes, the winters are what keep most people away from this city. I’m one of those very weird people who likes the cold, so I guess I’m lucky I live here 🙂 -Tania

Leave a Reply

