Write Reads #17 The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

The_Sweetness_at_the_Bottom_of_the_PieIt’s no mystery how we felt about our mystery pick: We really liked it. Have a listen to find out all of the reasons why, and, as a bonus, a discussion about the ongoing controversy surrounding Adult Fiction and Young Adult Fiction (check out Matt Haig’s (author of Write Reads faves The Radleys and The Humans) wonderful thoughts on this subject).

We also announce that Kirt’s June Pick is (drumroll) The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis. Thanks for your votes to help Kirt make this decision. Democracy in action.

Tania also discusses her adventures with other online book clubs that you may be interested in joining (in addition to ours, not instead): #yegbookclub and CBC Books on Goodreads.

Other books discussed in this podcast:

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Book Club, Book Picks, Kirt, Opinions, Podcast, Tania, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Write Reads #17 The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

  1. So this was the first time I actually LISTENED to the podcast. And I loved it you guys. LOVED it. The only downside is that I can’t actually join in with you! So many thoughts! Kirt: I totally agree with you that The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden shouldn’t have been called The Girl etc. And I’m so glad that you enjoyed Flavia! The rest of the series is excellent. Happy birthday month! Tania: I love what you had to say about child protagonists not automatically making a book for children. I’m sad that you didn’t love Flavia – I’m going to try and convince you to keep going with the series anyway. Looking forward to the next one! I feel like a whole new book world has just opened up to me!

    • writereads says:

      So glad you enjoyed it! Interesting that this whole “girl” business is happening – do you think it’s just a marketing ploy? It seems a lot of books (Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Gone Girl, Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden, etc) have been using the word lately.
      I did think Flavia was awesome, I think mysteries are just a tough sell for me sometimes. But you and Kirt might convince me to read at least one of the others 🙂 -Tania

      • I honestly hadn’t thought about it until you mentioned it but it totally could be. Not one of those titles you mention actually has to do with a girl, they are all women. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo in particular is a really badass woman. This bears more thinking about.
        We’ll just have to keep working on you. The last one I read, the ending! Suffice it to say, I’m annoyed that I’m having to wait for the new one to come out in paperback to match the others because I need answers!

  2. I didn’t read the book, but I enjoyed your discussion about Flavia (this is the name I still haven’t brought myself to use at David’s Tea when they write your name on the cup). You guys don’t need guest stars on the podcast. The two of you are great hosts! I haven’t started Best Laid Plans yet, but I’ll get there soon.

  3. Pingback: Victoria Day Self-Challenge Update | writereads

  4. Sorry guys, just got around to listening to the episode today. Better three weeks late than never, as the saying goes.

    Best part: Tanya thinks that flaming torches are the most exciting thing anyone can think of. I laughed uncontrollably at that. Still am.

    Seriously though, you completely sold me on the book. It was always one of those novels that I knew about, and heard was good, but never bothered to research in the slightest. So thanks for that. Also, the fact that Alan Bradley became a first time novelist at the age of 70 (!) is amazing. And encouraging.

    We’ve all got time!

  5. Pingback: In Defence of the Intelligent Child Narrator | Another Book Blog

Leave a Reply

