2014 Aurora Nominees

AuroraJust a quick post for all the CanLit SpecFic/Sci Fi/Fantasy lovers out there, the nominees are out for the Aurora Award. The winners will be announced in October.

aurora2My special interests are in the novels, YA, and graphic novels, but there are plenty of other awards given. A huge congrats to all the Edmonton authors on this list, and there are a lot of them. In the categories I’ve posted below, Edmonton is home to Susan McGregor (she’s nominated for two Auroras this year!) and one of my faves, Marty Chan!

For the novels, I gotta say, if I were an author nominated up against Guy Gavriel Kay, I’d be torn between being honoured that my name is in the same list as his and disappointed that I wouldn’t be going home with any awards. Though maybe Kay is like Meryl Streep, they nominate him but still give the awards to other people occasionally, just to be fair?

Anyway, here are the lists of the nominees of special interest to me, but check out the page for the list of all the nominees.

Best English Novel

A Turn of Light by Julie E. Czerneda, DAW Books
Red Planet Blues by Robert J. Sawyer, Penguin Canada
River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay, Viking Canada
The Tattooed Witch by Susan MacGregor, Five Rivers Publishing
Tombstone Blues by Chadwick Ginther, Ravenstone Books

Best English YA (Young Adult) Novel

The Ehrich Weisz Chronicles: Demon Gate by Marty Chan, Fitzhenry & Whiteside
Ink by Amanda Sun, Harlequin Teen
The Lake and the Library by S.M. Beiko, ECW Press
Out of Time by D.G. Laderoute, Five Rivers Publishing
Resolve by Neil Godbout, Bundoran Press
The Rising by Kelley Armstrong, Doubleday Canada

Best English Graphic Novel

Looking for Group by Ryan Sohmer and Lar DeSouza, webcomic
Rock, Paper, Cynic by Peter Chiykowski, webcomic
Weregeek by Alina Pete, webcomic
Wild Game: Sweet Tooth Vol. 6 by Jeff Lemire, Vertigo

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in CanLitNews, Tania. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2014 Aurora Nominees

  1. writereads says:

    Red Planet Blues was my first choice for our Sawyer novel selection, but it was only available in hardcover. Seeing it on this list makes me want to get a copy and read it (even if Triggers wasn’t all I’d hoped it would be). It’s also good to see Jeff Lemire gettin’ some love. – Kirt

  2. Carolyn O says:

    I seriously need to read River of Stars.

  3. Naomi says:

    All of these are new to me! I’m going to pretend I didn’t see them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

