Liebstered!

liebster_award

Last night, Kirt sent me a message saying I had been nominated for a Liebster Award by The Paperback Princess and that she really likes my blog. I read that as, “I’m all pouty that my name wasn’t included in the nomination.” My response to Kirtles is that while his pouty face always gets my sympathy, if he wants to get more recognition, he’s gonna need to step it up and post more on this site and engage more with the awesome peeps of the book blogging world – I believe the expression is “tough cookies” 🙂

I will happily, and with very little lording it over Kirtles, accept the Liebster Award on behalf of the Write Reads team. I was actually so excited about this that I’m now attempting to write a coherent blog at 7am. I thank The Paperback Princess for the nomination and can very honestly say that if I had known such an award existed (still quite new to this), I would have given one to her. She writes one of the best book blogs out there, well thought out, well written, funny and engaging.

So what is the Liebster Award? From the PB Princess:
“The idea behind the Liebster awards is for bloggers to get to share some of their favourite blogs as well as get a little attention themselves. So I’m pretty excited to get a chance to join in! But you guys, accolades and awards like this don’t come free. You have to earn them. The Liebster award has four parts: state 11 random facts about yourself (11!), answer 11 questions about yourself that were given to you by your nominator, nominate people yourself, and finally, give your nominees 11 questions to answer.”

11 Random Facts About Tania

1. I’m very short. Short enough to have garnered many nicknames (Threeapples being my favourite) and have gotten lots of “whoa, you’re short” from random strangers.
2. Predictably, I love books about short beings saving the world.
3. I teach bellydance for a living. It’s pretty damn cool.
4. Not many females can rock a fake mustache the way I can.
5. I’m a geek. Exhibit A: My favourite D&D story involved a friend of mine getting a wish, using that wish to turn an annoying PC at the table into a sandwich, and then eating that sandwich.
6. Kitchen tables are for eating on? Ludicrous, they are for book storage.
7. I don’t drive. I am an avid pedestrian and a supporter of public transit (even when I live in a city with the WORST PUBLIC TRANSIT EVER IN THE HISTORY OF THE WORLD!)
8. I’m capable of watching really bad fantasy TV and loving it, but put on a reality TV show and I’ll start vehemently trying to get you to change the channel. I’m surprisingly spry.
9. I own sock monkey versions of both Spike and Buffy.
10. I have never and will never diet. Food good. I like food.
11. I can remember a dozen dance choreographies at the same time, but my own name sometimes eludes me.

11 Questions Answered

1. Austen or Bronte? Why?
I love them both, but Austen. It may seem weird for an Italian, but I find the Brontes a little melodramatic for my tastes.
2. What was the last translated book you read?
Crap. It’s been awhile. I’m going to go with Cornelia Funke’s Reckless. I remember it most because of the dedication she writes to the translator: “And for Oliver, who again and again tailored English clothes for this story so that the Englishman and the German could tell it together.”
3. Where do you prefer to read?
The bus. Crazy, I know, with all the noise. But trying to avoid the the insanity of the bus gives me focus.
4.  Are you part of a book club? If not, would you ever want to be part of one?
Write Reads is technically a book club podcast, so yes. But I’m often not a huge fan in general as I find it very difficult to get into books if they are not what I’m in the mood for at that particular moment.
5. What is your earliest library memory?
I have so many as my dad took me almost every weekend. But, the most vivid one has got to be when it was a movie day, and so my dad dropped me off and a librarian took a bunch of us kids into the their “screening room.” She popped in a tape and then pretty much walked away. The tape she put on for a bunch of 5-10 year olds? Watcher in the Woods. In case you didn’t know, this is one of the scariest movies ever made. I suppose she saw it was made by Disney and thought it would be okay? Anyway, she came back in to check on us awhile later and all us kids were huddled together in a corner watching the screen in horror. Traumatizing, but makes for a good story.
6. What are your feelings on Choose Your Own Adventure books?
I have nothing against them, but I personally never got into them. Mostly, I thought it was a pain in the butt having to flip all those pages because I read all the endings anyway.
7. What book are you going to read next?
Frog Music by Emma Donahue is next on the list for Write Reads. After that, I think I’m going to go with City of Dark Magic by Flyte and Boy on the Edge by Erlings.
8. Do you abandon books? Why or why not?
I abandon books all the time. Sometimes for no good reason, I just see another shiny book over there and start reading that one. And, if I don’t like a book, I have no problem not finishing it. Life is too short to waste reading bad books when there are so many good ones out there.
9. If you read biographies, do you read mostly about men or women?
Funnily enough, I would have thought both, but when I look at my bookshelf it’s mostly women.
10. Are you a library regular or a bookstore shopper?
Bookstores, mostly. I love the idea of the library, and I often go to library events, but I can’t seem to get my head around the timelines involved. I can’t return a book on time to save my life. So now I go to the library for comic books and graphic novels, which I know I can polish off in a day and can then return quickly, and everything else is bookstores.
11. If you could see anyone in concert, living or dead, who would it be?
Thankfully, I’ve already gotten to see Cat Empire in concert. I guess if it has to be someone I haven’t seen, it would either have to be Pavarotti when he was alive, or Okkervil River performing an old album of theirs called Black Sheep Boy.

6 Bloggers Awarded

As this award is kind of like a chain letter and I realize that some may have already done this type of thing or find it annoying (I was all “Yay! Award! Fuel for blog post!), I fully understand if any or all bloggers I nominate decide not to pass on the chain. I am simply listing some of the book bloggers whose posts I look forward to most who have not also been recently nominated. All the blogs on this list are fantabulous, just trust me.

1. Laura of Reading in Bed.
2. Leah of Books Speak Volumes
3. Rick of Another Book Blog
4. Carolyn of Rosemary and Reading Glasses.
5. Naomi of Consumed by Ink.
6. Matt of This Nerding Life.

11 Questions Asked

1. Have you ever lied about having read a book?
2. Do you read while visiting the bathroom?
3. What is your favourite book by a Canadian author/which Canadian author would you most like to try reading?
4. Do you ever feel embarrassed by the cover of a book you are reading in public?
5. What was the last book that made you laugh out loud?
6. Is there any movie that was better than the book?
7. What is your favourite type of jam/jelly/marmalade?
8. What is the worst song to have spinning through your head?
9. Which character did you see yourself as when you were a kid? And now?
10. What is your comfort food and which restaurant makes it best?
11. If you could be re-reading any book right now, which one would it be?

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Opinions, Tania. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Liebstered!

  1. writereads says:

    It was really more wryly humorous self-flagellation than pouting (there was a bit of pouting too). You are certainly the better book blogger, and far more deserving of this honour. I am well aware of this. I would have nominated you myself (if I had known that Liebster Awards existed). I’ll try to bring more to the table in the future. – Kirt
    PS: “Do you ever read in the bathroom?”? Really?

    • writereads says:

      You’re very gracious, bestie. I guilt you into writing more because you’re good at it and you should do it more often.
      Regarding the bathroom question, you know me well enough to know that this question encapsulates all that is me :)-Tania

  2. Naomi says:

    Thanks for the nomination, Tania! I am so happy that you put me with such good company! I love all the blogs you chose! I had fun reading your answers, especially about your experience at the library. I have taken my own kids to library programs, and can totally see it happening. Some of the films they choose to show must be a billion years old.

    I have no idea how long it will take me, but I can’t wait to start answering those questions!

  3. I am sorry to have left you out Kirt! But seriously, write more. 🙂
    I love the questions you came up with for your nominees – those will garner some great answers. As for your library memory – good lord, how did you ever go back??

  4. lauratfrey says:

    Yay, thank you! I did get nominated for one of these a long time ago, but I was new to blogging and wary and thought it was some kind of scam or chain letter so I ignored it.

    I’m having a lot of fun with different versions of book clubs – like what we did with Come Barbarians, with your podcast, Twitter book clubs, read-alongs… but I don’t know if I’ll ever join a real, traditional book club.

    The bathroom question should be “Do you ALWAYS read in the bathroom” to which the answer is YES. I may have to take a picture of my bathroom reading drawer of shame.

    • writereads says:

      Thank you! I’ve been getting a few weird looks from people when I make jokes about reading in the bathroom so I need to confirm for myself that it’s normal. 🙂 -Tania

      • Naomi says:

        I always keep a book in the bathroom, and call it my bathroom book. It’s just one more sneaky way to get in more reading.

  5. 23summerd says:

    Eva is great, isn’t she!? I personally love this idea and am so excited about how it will open doors to great new blogs . . . like yours! I’m excited to read more of your work. : )

  6. Congratulations you guys. Yes, both of you. I guess because I listen to the podcast as well I think of the blog as a joint effort, even though it mostly is Tania!

  7. Congratulations! Is Kirt going to write a separate post with answers? Or does he just have to try posting more?

  8. Pingback: Liebstered! Nailed It In Only 7 Days! | writereads

  9. Pingback: What the hell is a Liebster Award? | Reading in Bed

  10. Carolyn O says:

    I just saw this — thanks Tania!

Leave a Reply

