International Children’s Book Day 2014!

ICBD April 2nd is my favourite book holiday! Since 1967, we’ve celebrated International Children’s Book Day on Hans Christian Andersen’s birthday! I’m gonna celebrate here by listing just a couple of my favourite Canuck kids’ books. But this is more about getting you to list your faves so I can add to my reading list.

Novels: 

plainkateThe whole LM Montgomery oeuvre, but most especially The Story Girl and its sequel The Golden Road, and the last in the Anne series, Rilla of Ingleside.

Plain Kate by Erin Bow. I spent 2 days working at a very slow bookfair and demolishing this awesome read. Gorgeous language, a vivid character, a captivating storyline and yes, I cried in public at the end of it. The woman had me crying over a talking cat. Seriously, it’s that good.

Picture Books: We have a rich history of awesome picture book authors with Dennis Lee and Munsch, so I’ll try to pick just a couple. Augustine, Melanie Watt

Augustine by Melanie Watt. The author of the infamous Scaredy Squirrel has many other fantastic picture books out, Augustine being one of the sweeter ones about how a shy penguin uses art to make friends.

mistergottogoMister Got to Go by Lois Simmie. A great book about the story of how a cat came to live at the Sylvia Hotel in Vancouver. A fun story with great illustrations and I always loves me some curmudgeonly character who shows him/herself to be a marshmallow on the inside. Note that goodreads has the title wrong, the have both the sequel and the original with the same title.

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Opinions, Tania. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to International Children’s Book Day 2014!

  1. OK I know you saw my comments on CanLit over at 52 Books or Bust BUT I would like to add a caveat: Canadian *Children’s* Literature is the best. I was obsessed with Kit Pearson once upon a time – the Guests of War Trilogy? Awake and Dreaming? Please. Amazing.
    I cried my eyes out at the end of Rilla of Ingleside. And I still love to read anything by Robert Munsch, obviously.

    • writereads says:

      I was wondering how someone who said she didn’t read that much CanLit took her blog name from a Munsch book 🙂
      Kit Pearson rules! I loved A Perfect Gentle Knight as well as the ones you listed.
      And every time I need a good cry, I turn either to the end of Rilla or to the spot where Jem comes home and Dog Friday has been waiting for him at the train station 🙂 – Tania

  2. When she finds out that Walter died in the war?? Gentle, poetic, lovely Walter. I still can’t.

    I’ve been meaning to re-read this series. Anne of Green Gables is truly the best of CanLit for any age.

  3. Naomi says:

    I agree with Anne and Rilla, and The Story Girl. I also loved Emily! I have re-read all these books several times. As for more recent books, I love the Dear Canada series that are written by several different Canadian authors. A couple of years ago, I was borrowing as many from the library as I could. I wish they had been around when I was young- I would have learned so much more about Canada.

    • writereads says:

      I, too, liked the Dear Canada series. As I was never good at remembering Canadian history, these would have been great when I was a kid – I totally agree 🙂 – Tania

Leave a Reply

