Extracurricular Listening for Blood: The Stuff of Life

ideasOn Monday, April 14th, you’ll get to hear what Kirt and I thought of Blood: The Stuff of Life (and we’ll hopefully hear from you about what you thought of it). When we selected this book, we had no idea that it had inspired the CBC to create a whole host of stories for a series called Bloodlines. Huge credit to my awesome dad for telling me about this today. He rocks.

Feel like listening instead of reading? You can listen to several of the award-winning stories it inspired on Ideas. If you’re in a readerly mood, you can go to Canada Writes to read the full versions of the short stories and poems. There looks to be quite a bit of blood for thought in this topic and I’m excited to hear your views and hash it out with my BFF in the upcoming episode.

I’ll update this post once I’ve read more of these to let you know which ones were my faves. I welcome you to comment on which Bloodlines works you liked best.

About writereads

A Canadian book club podcast that will change the world of literature forever.
This entry was posted in Book Club, Book Picks, Opinions, Tania. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Extracurricular Listening for Blood: The Stuff of Life

  1. I can’t tell you how it makes my heart pitter patter to see a CBC Radio celebrity on a blog! I am addicted to Ideas so have obviously listened to Bloodlines etc. Keep up the good work on the podcast.

  2. writereads says:

    I grew up in a house where CBC radio is (and I’m not using this word lightly) literally never turned off, just turned down occasionally. I sadly don’t have the time to listen to the radio as much in my own home, but I do subscribe to all the book -related CBC podcasts and many of their other podcasts. CBC radio rocks!

Leave a Reply

